Narnia (again)…

Phew. We have worked our little socks off these last few months, emerging into the dark, November nights after having completed one of our largest ever orders. We’ve made tens of thousands of candles for a lovely client, but we received the glassware – which is just fabulous (hand- blown in Istanbul no less) far later than expected and so, it has been a day and night operation to get the order out to our client to meet their deadline.  

Just when we needed a bit of a break then, I accidentally left one of the Wax Melter tank’s handles ever so slightly open and we were greeted in the morning to a scene from Narnia. White wax had cascaded onto the floor creating stalactites and stalagmites of wax. This is somewhat ironic given that I have just written a piece for our local village mag about a day in my life and was joking about how this very calamity happened to me when the business started in my kitchen, seven years ago. I couldn’t believe that I’d done it again. Cleaning cold, congealed wax is unimaginably laborious and I was plastered in it. I cracked as I moved. I could have sobbed as once the mess was scrubbed clean, I had to dash to Soho to a glittering launch party of one of our client’s fabulous new shops and had hoped to give the impression of elegant professional and not, as it transpired, Lumiere from Beauty and the Beast.  

Party over, I took a breather and had a little wander around London. The lights were being put up. The streets were bustling, the shop windows arresting, and perfume from posh shops was being spritzed into the air. I half expected Richard Curtis to round a corner as I was seduced into feeling rather festive. Perfect timing because next week, we have Bath Christmas Market from Thursday 23rd November until Sunday, 10th December. We are in a different location this year, next to the glorious Bath Abbey and not on Bath Street. We have some special things planned and some special offers only available at the market so do come and see us. Until then, I am crossing everything that the delivery of glassware from Murano, Venice will arrive soon and in one piece. The delivery is currently four weeks late. Don’t panic. Don’t panic…If not, they will be available to order online in time for Christmas. 

Once done, I am very much looking forward to a long break with the whole family. Birds will be flying back to the nest from all over – our daughter from America, eldest son from London, middle son from university, and the youngest son might emerge from his room to see his siblings. And then, once the trees are down for another year, my husband and I are heading off for a week of winter sun. Just the two of us… However, there is a lot to do before then. One heck of a lot. 

Cathy x

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Leave a comment