Hope…

Omicron finally struck the household just before Half Term via our youngest child. We both isolated in separate corners of the house, although he was completely asymptomatic, and I had a week in my bedroom with room service delivered to the door, which, dare I say it, was rather nice. I did some paperwork, read books and practiced my Italian which I am learning at night school. Thankfully my husband has, thus far, completely managed to avoid being infected – the only person in the family that has not had it. He is convinced that having spent years sharing cabins and the intimate environment on board her Majesty’s ships that his resolve is made of steel. I’m more inclined to think that his liberal use of Dettol and having the windows open during storm Eunice provided biblical levels of ventilation, which no germ, however tenacious, could have withstood.

My most pressing symptom was a loss of smell, which for someone who makes her living from sniffing nice smells was a little alarming, but I inhaled so many essential oils and munched on so many fish oils to boost my recovery that the dreaded anosmia was thankfully, short-lived. I feel so sorry for anyone that has had this persist for weeks or months and for those whose sense of smell has not returned after covid. It’s awful not being able to enjoy your food!

I watched the little blue lines on my lateral flow tests more intently than I did for any of my four pregnancies, and when finally there was only one, singular sensation of a blue line, I packed my valise and Hubby and escaped to Italy for a long weekend. We stayed for a few nights in a little hotel in the mountains before returning to our house in Italy for a night. A brief but very welcome few nights away. Thankfully the weather was kind and we managed a couple of wonderful days of skiing, the first time in over two years. No 4 child’s two positive line stayed resolute however, but our wonderful daughter stepped into the breech and took over the maternal reins. Strange to think that now, only a week later, no form of isolation is mandatory.

The early spring sunshine is welcome after a long winter and the dachshunds are much keener about going on their daily walks. Those little legs did not like Dudley, Eunice and Franklin and are positively hopping with the promise of spring, trotting through the crocuses and early shoots of daffodils and grape hyacinths that are emerging under the trees in our garden. It’s very inspiring as we are working on some new scents for Spring and I was back at the market in Green Park Station yesterday and it was lovely to see a few of our regular customers again and to chat. I’m so lucky my job grounds me and makes me feel calm.

Something needs to – as we emerge from the darkness of two years of a pandemic, please God let us not head into something worse. I remind myself that the flame of a candle has for years been a symbol of hope. It is comforting, illuminating and brings light to the darkness of individual life, precisely why mine is lit tonight for the people of Ukraine.

Cathy x

Leave a comment